Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links

Genus Coris Lacépède, 1801


Randall (1999) revised the Indo-Pacific members of the genus Coris and included 26 valid species, 2 from the Atlantic and 24 from the Indo-Pacific. This classification was also followed by Parenti & Randall (2000). Kuiter's (2010) work on labrids recognised only 9 Coris species, placing the remaining species into one of three new genera (Allocoris, Corichoeres, Paracoris) and into the genus Hemicoris, which he removed from synonymy with Coris. This arrangement was based, at least in part, on the results of Barber & Bellwood (2005) which showed through the use of molecular techniques that Coris, and the closely related Halichoeres, were not monophyletic, and led them to conclude that both genera were in need of revision. The arrangement of Kuiter (2010) has not been widely accepted by other workers (e.g. Parenti & Randall 2011) and while we agree that the genus is in need of revision (employing both molecular and morphological techniques), we follow the revision of Randall (1999) until further work can be conducted to support Kuiter's (2010) arrangement.


Excluded Taxa


LABRIDAE: Coris variegata (Rüppell, 1835) [now considered to be a Red Sea endemic, Australian records based on Coris batuensis] — Randall, J.E., Allen, G.R. & Steene, R. 1990. Fishes of the Great Barrier Reef and Coral Sea. Bathurst : Crawford House Press 507 pp. figs. [313]




New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, Victoria, Western Australia

Extra Distribution Information

East Atlantic-Indo-west-central Pacific.

IBRA and IMCRA regions (map not available)


Lord Howe Province (14), Central Eastern Transition (15), Kenn Transition (16), Kenn Province (17), Northeast Province (18), Northeast Transition (19), Timor Province (2), Cape Province (20), Norfolk Island Province (21), Cocos (Keeling) Island Province (22), Christmas Island Province (23), Northern Shelf Province (25), Northwest Shelf Transition (26), Northwest Shelf Province (27), Central Western Shelf Transition (28), Central Western Shelf Province (29), Northwest Transition (3), Southwest Shelf Transition (30), Southwest Shelf Province (31), Southeast Shelf Transition (37), Central Eastern Shelf Province (38), Central Eastern Shelf Transition (39), Northeast Shelf Province (40), Northeast Shelf Transition (41)

Other Regions

Coral Sea Islands Territory, Territory of Ashmore & Cartier Islands, Torres Strait Islands terrestrial, marine & freshwater

History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
13-Apr-2023 LABRIDAE 13-Apr-2023 MODIFIED
27-Jul-2017 LABROIDEI 12-Nov-2019 MODIFIED Dr Dianne Bray (NMV) Dr Doug Hoese (AM) Dr Matthew Lockett (AM)
27-Jul-2010 MODIFIED