Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links



The Euteleostei contains the majority of fishes. The group includes over 30 orders, 390 families and over 20,000 species. The subdivision is divided into nine superorders, all of which have representatives in Australia. Relationships of the group are poorly known (Nelson 1994). Recently, Nelson (2006) removed the superorder Ostariophysi from Euteleostei and placed it with Clupeomorpha in the subdivision Ostarioclupeomorpha. Because relationships are still unresolved we retain the previous classification, including Ostariophysi in the Euteleostei.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
12-Feb-2010 (import)