Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links



The class Actinopterygii includes the ray-finned fishes. Two subclasses of the Actinopterygii are recognised: Chondrostei and Neopterygii. Species of Chondrostei occur in fresh waters of Africa, North America, Europe and northern Asia; they are not represented in Australia (Nelson 1994). Members of the Neopterygii are well represented in Australian waters with 184 families and over 2,000 species. The subclass contains a single division the Teleostei or the modern bony fishes. The division is divided into four subdivisions based on the work of Patterson & Rosen (1977). Details of the classification are discussed in Nelson (1994).


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
12-Feb-2010 (import)