Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links



The classification used here for Pleuronectoidei follows that of Nelson (1994): ten families are recognised, eight known from Australia. Recently, Nelson (2006) elevated three subfamilies of Pleuronectidae to familial status giving a total of 13 families for the suborder. The major change affecting the Australian fauna is the recognition of the families Poecilopsettidae and Rhombosoleidae, separate from Pleuronectidae. The understanding of relationships has also changed, with Nelson (2006) recognising three superfamilies, which results in a sequence arrangement for the families that is slightly different from that given here.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
12-Feb-2010 (import)