Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links

Genus Aetomylaeus Garman, 1908



Currently two of the four recognised species are known from Australia.


Excluded Taxa


MYLIOBATIDAE: Aetomylaeus nicofii (Bloch & Schneider, 1801) — White, W.T., Last, P.R. & Baje, L. 2015. Aetomylaeus caeruleofasciatus, a new species of eagle ray (Myliobatiformes: Myliobatidae) from northern Australia and New Guinea. Ichthyological Research 63(1): 94-109 [Date published 23 July 2015: published first online in 2015, then in journal in January 2016] [94] (known only from Persian/Arabian Gulf westwards to Indonesia, and north to Taiwan, China and southern Japan)




Northern Territory, Queensland, Western Australia

Extra Distribution Information

Indo-west Pacific.

IBRA and IMCRA regions (map not available)


Northern Shelf Province (25), Northwest Shelf Transition (26), Northwest Shelf Province (27), Central Western Shelf Transition (28), Central Western Shelf Province (29), Central Eastern Shelf Province (38), Central Eastern Shelf Transition (39), Northeast Shelf Province (40), Northeast Shelf Transition (41)

History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
05-Aug-2022 MYLIOBATIFORMES 09-Jan-2020 MODIFIED Dr Doug Hoese Dr Matthew Lockett
16-Apr-2012 16-Jul-2015 MODIFIED
26-Mar-2010 MODIFIED