Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

Genus Petauroides Thomas, 1888



This genus has long been considered to contain the single species P. volans (Kerr, 1792) with two subspecies, P. volans volans ranging from VIC to around Rockhampton, QLD, and P. volans minor (Collett, 1887) north of Rockhampton. However, mounting evidence has shown that it likely contains at least two taxa, and possibly three, that could be recognised at the species level. Jackson & Groves (2015) recognised three species, P. volans, P. minor and in addition P. armillatus Thomas 1923, occurring between northern NSW/southern QLD and Rockhampton, however they only cited personal communication with the late Kenneth Aplin and a brief conference abstract by Arbogast et al. (2011) as their support. More recently McGregor et al. (2020) presented molecular and morphological results that supported the assertion of Jackson & Groves (2015), but their sampling did not include any specimens from NSW, the largest part of P. volans range, and they noted that "additional surveys should be undertaken to obtain a more complete understanding of genetic structure across the range of greater gliders.". Work is currently underway by Kyle Armstrong and Brian Arbogast to address this situation (personal communication) and as such we recognise P. minor as a distinct species but retain P. volans armillatus as a junior synonym of P. volans until their work is completed.




Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria

IBRA and IMCRA regions (map not available)


ACT, NSW, Qld, Vic: Australian Alps (AA), Brigalow Belt South (BBS), Broken Hill Complex (BHC), Cobar Peneplain (CP), Darling Riverine Plains (DRP), Flinders (FLI), Murray Darling Depression (MDD), Mulga Lands (ML), Nandewar (NAN), Naracoorte Coastal Plain (NCP), New England Tablelands (NET), NSW North Coast (NNC), NSW South Western Slopes (NSS), Riverina (RIV), Sydney Basin (SB), South East Coastal Plain (SCP), South East Corner (SEC), South Eastern Highlands (SEH), South Eastern Queensland (SEQ), Victorian Midlands (VM), Victorian Volcanic Plain (VVP) ; Qld: Brigalow Belt North (BBN), Central Mackay Coast (CMC), Desert Uplands (DEU), Einasleigh Uplands (EIU), Wet Tropics (WT)

History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
23-Aug-2021 Petauroides Thomas, 1888 18-Aug-2021 MODIFIED
29-Oct-2010 29-Oct-2010 MOVED
07-Oct-2010 MODIFIED