Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

External Links



The order Orectolobiformes contains seven families, all normally found in coastal waters. Many of the species are benthic, but the pelagic whale shark is also included in this order (Compagno 2001). Goto (2001) discussed relationships within the order.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
16-Apr-2012 16-Apr-2012 MODIFIED
12-Feb-2010 (import)