Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

Subclass OCTOCORALLIA Haeckel, 1866

Compiler and date details

5 June 2008


Members of the subclass Octocorallia, commonly known as octocorals, are the more primitive of the Anthozoans. They derive their name from the presence of eight pinnate (feathered) tentacles that surround the mouth of the polyp and eight unpaired mesenteries. Octocorals are an extremely diverse group of animals characterised by small secretions of calcium carbonate (spicules or sclerites) within the tissue. Octocorals are solitary or colonial and include the soft corals, fan and whip corals, sea pens and blue and red coral. They contribute indirectly to the reef by the contribution of spicules to the unconsolidated calcareous sediments that over time become incorporated into the overall limestone reef structure.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
06-Aug-2015 OCTOCORALLIA Haeckel, 1866 13-Aug-2013 MOVED Dr Phil Alderslade
05-Aug-2022 29-Sep-2010 MODIFIED
05-Aug-2022 13-Jul-2010 MODIFIED
13-Jul-2010 MODIFIED