Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

Genus Limbodessus Guignot, 1939

Compiler and date details

2008 - ABRS, with input from C.H.S. Watts, South Australian Museum

2002 - Updated by Andrew A. Calder, CSIRO Entomology, Canberra, Australia

1987 - J.F. Lawrence, T.A. Weir & J.E. Pyke




Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia

Extra Distribution Information

New Guinea.

Note that conversion of the original AFD map of states, drainage basins and coastal and oceanic zones to IBRA and IMCRA regions may have produced errors. The new maps will be reviewed and corrected as updates occur. The maps may not indicate the entire distribution. See further details below.
IBRA and IMCRA regions (map not available)
drainage basins and coastal and oceanic zones (map not available)


Gascoyne (GAS), Murchison (MUR), Yalgoo (YAL) ; ACT, NSW, NT, Qld, SA, Tas, Vic: Australian Alps (AA), Broken Hill Complex (BHC), Flinders (FLI), Nandewar (NAN), Naracoorte Coastal Plain (NCP), New England Tablelands (NET), NSW South Western Slopes (NSS), Sydney Basin (SB), South East Corner (SEC), South Eastern Highlands (SEH) ; ACT, NSW, NT, Qld, SA, Tas, Vic, WA: Brigalow Belt South (BBS), Murray Darling Depression (MDD), NSW North Coast (NNC), Riverina (RIV), South East Coastal Plain (SCP), South Eastern Queensland (SEQ), Victorian Midlands (VM), Victorian Volcanic Plain (VVP) ; ACT, NSW, NT, Qld, SA, Vic, WA: Arnhem Coast (ARC), Brigalow Belt North (BBN), Central Arnhem (CA), Desert Uplands (DEU), Einasleigh Uplands (EIU), Gulf Fall and Uplands (GFU), Gulf Coastal (GUC), Gulf Plains (GUP), Murchison (MUR), Yalgoo (YAL) ; ACT, NSW, NT, Qld, Vic: Central Mackay Coast (CMC), Cobar Peneplain (CP), Cape York Peninsula (CYP), Darling Riverine Plains (DRP), Mulga Lands (ML), Wet Tropics (WT) ; ACT, NSW, NT, Qld, Vic, WA: Gascoyne (GAS) ; ACT, NSW, SA, Tas, Vic: Tasmanian Central Highlands (TCH) ; NSW, NT, Qld, SA, Tas, Vic, WA: Eyre Yorke Block (EYB), Flinders Lofty Block (FLB) ; NSW, SA, Tas, Vic: Ben Lomond (BEL), Gawler (GAW), Kanmantoo (KAN), King (KIN), Tasmanian Northern Midlands (TNM), Tasmanian Northern Slopes (TNS), Tasmanian South East (TSE), Tasmanian Southern Ranges (TSR), Tasmanian West (TWE) ; NT, Qld, SA, Vic, WA: Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Channel Country (CHC), Coolgardie (COO), Davenport Murchison Ranges (DMR), Esperance Plains (ESP), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Hampton (HAM), Jarrah Forest (JF), MacDonnell Ranges (MAC), Mallee (MAL), Mitchell Grass Downs (MGD), Mount Isa Inlier (MII), Simpson Strzelecki Dunefields (SSD), Stony Plains (STP), Sturt Plateau (STU), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Warren (WAR) ; NT, WA: Great Sandy Desert (GSD) ; WA: Carnarvon (CAR), Central Ranges (CR), Dampierland (DL), Gibson Desert (GD), Great Victoria Desert (GVD), Little Sandy Desert (LSD), Nullarbor (NUL), Pilbara (PIL), Tanami (TAN)

Original AFD Distribution Data

Australian Region

  • Australia
    • Australian Capital Territory: Murray-Darling basin
    • New South Wales: Murray-Darling basin, SE coastal
    • Northern Territory: Lake Eyre basin, N Gulf, W plateau
    • Queensland: Lake Eyre basin, N Gulf, NE coastal
    • South Australia: Lake Eyre basin, Murray-Darling basin, S Gulfs, SE coastal, W plateau
    • Tasmania
    • Victoria: Murray-Darling basin, SE coastal
    • Western Australia: NW coastal, SW coastal, W plateau
  • Indonesia
    • Irian Jaya
  • Papua New Guinea

Distribution References

ID Keys

See Watts & Humphreys (2006: 124-131)


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
13-Jan-2014 Limbodessus Guignot, 1939 03-Jan-2014 REVIEWED
03-Dec-2012 18-Dec-2012 MODIFIED
12-Feb-2010 (import)