Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory




Regional Maps

External Links

CAAB: 37018000


Weasel Sharks

Compiler and date details

26 July 2011 - Douglass F. Hoese & Jennifer E. Gates


The Hemigaleidae comprise four genera and eight species worldwide, with two genera and two species known from Australia (Last & Stevens 1994, 2009). Weasel sharks are found in the Indo-west Pacific, largely in coastal areas extending to the continental shelf. They vary in size from 1–2 m in length. The family was previously included within the Carcharhinidae, but hemigaleids differ in internal anatomy. Compagno (1998) and Compagno et al. (2005) treated the family, including Australian species.


History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
16-Apr-2012 16-Apr-2012 MODIFIED
12-Feb-2010 (import)