Australian Biological Resources Study

Australian Faunal Directory


Regional Maps

Subgenus Apus (Apus) Scopoli, 1777

  • Apus Scopoli, G.A. 1777. Introductio ad Historiam Naturalem, sistens genera lapidum, plantarum et animalium hactenus detecta, caracteribus essentialibus donata, in tribus divisa, subinde ad leges naturae. Prague : Wolfgangus Gerle 506 pp. [483] [attributed to Bellon; not a junior homonym of Apos Scopoli, 1777 (loc. cit.: 404) (Crustacea), see ICZN Art. 56(b) and Peters, J.L. 1940. Check-list of Birds of the World. Cambridge : Harvard University Press Vol. 4 xii 291 pp., cf. Mathews, G.M. 1918. The Birds of Australia. London : Witherby & Co. Vol. 7 pt 3 pp. 217–320 pls 343–351 [26 Aug. 1918, volume dated as 1918–1919] [275]; validated as correct name with above authorship, place of publication and type species by International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature Opinion 502, gender masculine; the names Micropus Wolf, 1810 in Meyer & Wolf and Cypselus Illiger, 1811, both used for this genus on the understanding that Apus Scopoli, 1777 was preoccupied, are now invalidated on the Official Index of Rejected and Invalid Generic Names in Zoology by International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature Opinion 502].
    Type species:
     Hirundo apus Linnaeus, 1758 by absolute tautonymy.




New South Wales, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria, Western Australia

Extra Distribution Information

Palaeotropics and Palaearctic, from Africa and Eurasia through Malesian archipelagos to Papuasia and New Zealand.

Note that conversion of the original AFD map of states, drainage basins and coastal and oceanic zones to IBRA and IMCRA regions may have produced errors. The new maps will be reviewed and corrected as updates occur. The maps may not indicate the entire distribution. See further details below.
IBRA and IMCRA regions (map not available)
drainage basins and coastal and oceanic zones (map not available)


NSW, NT, Qld, SA, Tas, Vic, WA: Australian Alps (AA), Arnhem Coast (ARC), Arnhem Plateau (ARP), Avon Wheatbelt (AW), Brigalow Belt North (BBN), Brigalow Belt South (BBS), Ben Lomond (BEL), Broken Hill Complex (BHC), Burt Plain (BRT), Central Arnhem (CA), Carnarvon (CAR), Channel Country (CHC), Central Kimberley (CK), Central Mackay Coast (CMC), Coolgardie (COO), Cobar Peneplain (CP), Central Ranges (CR), Cape York Peninsula (CYP), Daly Basin (DAB), Darwin Coastal (DAC), Desert Uplands (DEU), Dampierland (DL), Davenport Murchison Ranges (DMR), Darling Riverine Plains (DRP), Einasleigh Uplands (EIU), Esperance Plains (ESP), Eyre Yorke Block (EYB), Finke (FIN), Flinders Lofty Block (FLB), Flinders (FLI), Gascoyne (GAS), Gawler (GAW), Gibson Desert (GD), Geraldton Sandplains (GS), Great Sandy Desert (GSD), Gulf Plains (GUP), Great Victoria Desert (GVD), Hampton (HAM), Jarrah Forest (JF), Kanmantoo (KAN), King (KIN), Little Sandy Desert (LSD), MacDonnell Ranges (MAC), Mallee (MAL), Murray Darling Depression (MDD), Mitchell Grass Downs (MGD), Mount Isa Inlier (MII), Mulga Lands (ML), Murchison (MUR), Nandewar (NAN), Naracoorte Coastal Plain (NCP), New England Tablelands (NET), Northern Kimberley (NK), NSW North Coast (NNC), NSW South Western Slopes (NSS), Nullarbor (NUL), Ord Victoria Plain (OVP), Pine Creek (PCK), Pilbara (PIL), Riverina (RIV), Sydney Basin (SB), South East Coastal Plain (SCP), South East Corner (SEC), South Eastern Highlands (SEH), South Eastern Queensland (SEQ), Simpson Strzelecki Dunefields (SSD), Stony Plains (STP), Sturt Plateau (STU), Swan Coastal Plain (SWA), Tanami (TAN), Tasmanian Central Highlands (TCH), Tiwi Cobourg (TIW), Tasmanian Northern Midlands (TNM), Tasmanian Northern Slopes (TNS), Tasmanian South East (TSE), Tasmanian Southern Ranges (TSR), Tasmanian West (TWE), Victoria Bonaparte (VB), Victorian Midlands (VM), Victorian Volcanic Plain (VVP), Warren (WAR), Wet Tropics (WT), Yalgoo (YAL)


Lord Howe Province (14), Norfolk Island Province (21), Christmas Island Province (23), Macquarie Island Province (24)

Original AFD Distribution Data

Antarctic Region

  • Macquarie Island (Aust. Terr.)

Australian Region

  • Australia
    • Lord Howe Island
    • New South Wales
    • Norfolk Island
    • Northern Territory: Lake Eyre basin, N coastal, W plateau
    • Queensland
    • South Australia
    • Tasmania
    • Victoria
    • Western Australia
  • New Zealand

Oriental Region

  • Christmas Island (Aust. Terr.)

Distribution References

History of changes

Note that this list may be incomplete for dates prior to September 2013.
Published As part of group Action Date Action Type Compiler(s)
12-Feb-2010 (import)