Asteraceae Bercht. & J.Presl
Carthamus tinctorius L. , legitimate, scientific
Linnaeus, C. (1 May 1753), Species Plantarum 2: 830 [tax. nov.]
  • Type: "Habitat in Aegypto."
Hooker, J.D. (1859), Introductory Essay. The botany of the Antarctic voyage of H.M. Discovery ships Erebus and Terror. III. Flora Tasmaniae 2(11): cviii [secondary reference]
Bentham, G. (5 January 1867), Orders XLVIII. Myrtaceae- LXII. Compositae. Flora Australiensis 3: 458 [secondary reference]
Mueller, F.J.H. von (1888), Key to the System of Victorian Plants 1: 534 [secondary reference]
Hanelt, P. (1963), Monographische √úbersicht der Gattung Carthamus L. (Compositae). Feddes Repertorium Specierum Novarum Regni Vegetabilis 67: 90-91 [secondary reference]
Cunningham, G.M., Mulham, W.E., Milthorpe, P.L. & Leigh, J.H. (1981), Plants of Western New South Wales: 721 [secondary reference]
common name: Safflower [n/a]
Jacobs, S.W.L. & Pickard, J. (1981), Plants of New South Wales: 74 [secondary reference]
Green, J.W. (1985), Census of the Vascular Plants of Western Australia Edn. 2: 164 [secondary reference]
Stanley, T.D. in Stanley, T.D. & Ross, E.M. (1986), Asteraceae. Flora of South-eastern Queensland 2: 587 [secondary reference]
common name: Safflower [n/a]
Murray, L. in Harden, G.J. (ed.) (1992), Carthamus. Flora of New South Wales 3: 328, pl.10 [secondary reference]
common name: Safflower [n/a]
Jeanes, J.A. in Walsh, N.G. & Entwisle, T.J. (ed.) (1999), Asteraceae. Flora of Victoria 4: 675-676, Fig. 129d [secondary reference]
common name: Safflower [n/a]
Council of Heads of Australasian Herbaria (2011), Australian Plant Census: - APC [secondary reference]
  • APC Dist.: WA (naturalised), NT (naturalised), SA (naturalised), Qld (naturalised), NSW (naturalised), Vic (naturalised), Tas (naturalised)
Bean, A.R. in Wilson, A.J.G. (ed.) (2015), Asteraceae Subfam. 2. Carduoideae Trib. 1. Cardueae. Flora of Australia 37: 68, map [secondary reference]
common name: Safflower [n/a]
de Salas, M.F. & Baker, M.L. (2016), A Census of the Vascular Plants of Tasmania, including Macquarie Island: 12 [secondary reference]